Eye Yoga – Day 1

Posted on July 22, 2006. Filed under: Ramblings, Yoga |

So as previously mentioned I joined this “Eye Yoga” class and as promised here is my long overdue update. So I walk in this place, the first thing they do is give me an eye checkup. Very logical move. I am nearsighted. So the power of my eyes turns out to be -5.00 on left eye and -4.50 on my right eye. Yes, my eyes are quite weak that’s why I could never fulfill my dreams of becoming a pilot.

Anyway, back to Yoga. So they start teaching me a series of exercises. Most people that think of yoga, picture contortion. So did I. So I thought they were going to make me stand on my head, arch my legs and make me read a book. Lucky me, nothing of that sort. They then handed me a pouch full of goodies. Contents of the pouch: a ball, a cup, eye drops, accupressure thingie, some charts, a booklet and a pirate’s eye patch (arrrgh).

They taugh me 20 somewhat exercises so I am not going to bore with them. However, the two main exercises were reading of fine print and playing with a ball (get your mind out of the gutter). I said ball not balls. The playing with the ball improves hand to eye coordination. The patch helps isolate each eye so you can exerercise it one at a time. When I was reading this booklet that had only fine print, I realised that this was no yoga. All his exercises were based on the theories of a Mr W.H.Bates. Who has written a book called “Better eyesight without glasses.”

The irony is that I read this book years back and was too lazy to practise those exercises. And here I am actually paying someone to teach what I could have got out of a book! Sucker!! And you should see the amount of parents that bring their children to this place. So this so called “doctor” lounges around while his “assistants” (all of the women) are the ones teaching these exercises and taking care of the students. Hmm…. nice little scam, sorry I mean operation. Need to some how check his credentials and see if he really went to optometry school.

To be continued…

Make a Comment

Leave a comment

7 Responses to “Eye Yoga – Day 1”

RSS Feed for Paradoxed Comments RSS Feed

The bigger scandal is the high street Opticians doing free eye checks and prescribing glasses for every one who takes a test. Simple eye exercises (as suggested by the Bates method) would have resolved the issues. Prescribing specs for all children has created a generation of people with poor vision. Who are the suckers?

Sukumar

You’re absolutely right but like anything today, you have the long way or short way of doing things. Why spend countless hours doing stomach crunches when you can go get a liposuction during your lunch break. However, I was not disparaging the eye yoga. All I meant to say was, I went in there thinking it was some ancient Indian secret and all it turned out to be were exercises from a book I read a few years ago. Do you have some first hand experience with this? Can you share your results with us?

Yes,the Bates method is old,many eye doctors think
that this method is inefective to treat eyes disease.

I took my daughter this week to the eye doctor and she recomended computer exercises to try
to stop her eyes to get worse.
She charge $35.00 per session,10 sessions minimun.
Mario

I forgot to tell you,my daughter is 4 years old!

Mario Oly


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...