Comfortably Numb…

Posted on July 13, 2006. Filed under: India, Ramblings |

Hello.
Is there anybody in there?
Just nod if you can hear me.
Is there anyone home?

These are great lyrics by Pink Floyd. But, I don’t want to rant about his lyrics. I am actually referring to the people of Mumbai. I’m sure you all heard about the train bombings that took place in Mumbai on July 11th which they are referring here as 7/11, although, the magnitude of the disaster and death toll was nowhere near 9/11. But it was bad enough for the people to be angry about something like this occurring in their backyard.

I have been here 2 months and witnessed a deluge, riots and now bombings. And I am MAD. I am so mad that I want to shake down corrupt politicians, tare down the walls to their lavish homes and drag them over the millions of potholes that over the city. Shouldn’t last years devastating floods make a person want to get up and figth for your city? Why should you tolerate corrupt politicians not living up to their end of the bargain? Why is everyone in this city so indifferent, self-absorbed, help me out here… can’t find the word. How can city officials get away with squandering away tax-payers money and not delivering what they promised?  Every year there are floods and the city is plagued with potholes like a bad case of acne. 

And during the bomb blasts the cops delayed in responding and so did the paramedics. Why tolerate having an underpaid and corrupted police force that cannot come to your rescue when needed the most. There is no sense of security.

All I ask for is the people of Mumbai to WAKE UP. Take back your city! Being numb does not constitute as having a spirit.

Make a Comment

Leave a comment

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...